View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
jrtonnesen
Posts: 1
Joined: 21 Jun 2007
|
Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 11:17 am Post subject: Maya 2013 plugin, send mesh issues |
|
|
I have it so in maya 2013 I can open uvlayout by clicking on run. Uvlayout will open but when I select mesh and click send nothing gets sent. Now I've checked many times to see if obj export is loaded and it is. the script editor registers that I'm sending it and spits out this // Selected objects sent to UVLayout.
Any help would be appreciated.
thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
headus Site Admin

Posts: 2902
Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
|
Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
If you're comfortable with editing MEL script, open up the 'uvlayout_open.mel' file and change this line ...
int $debug = 0;
... to this ...
int $debug = 1;
Restart Maya to make sure it loads up the edited script, then try and send a mesh to UVLayout. Extra info will be send to the script window, which might help you work out whats wrong yourself, otherwise email or post it here and I'll take a look.
Phil |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
valurik
Posts: 5
Joined: 13 Mar 2013
Location: Ukraine
|
Posted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 3:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi.
I've encountered similar problem.
After turning debug mode on, it said: "can't open file"
maya version 2013.5 x64
originally it worked well.
i haven't noticed when exactly it has broken.
reinstall of plugin or whole UVlayout don't fix the problem.
maybe reinstall of maya will help, but i don't have time to chek it right now.
after reinstall of UV layout with debug mode turned on it says nothing((
just: "selected object sent to UVLayout"
#on same machine maya 2008 is installed and all works perfectly# |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
headus Site Admin

Posts: 2902
Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
|
Posted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Someone else recently reported a similar problem, and they discovered that there was something in their "maya/2013-x64/prefs/userPrefs.mel" file that was breaking the plugin. We couldn't work out which maya setting/preference it was that was the problem, but they deleted that file to reset all the values, and it fixed it.
Phil |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
valurik
Posts: 5
Joined: 13 Mar 2013
Location: Ukraine
|
Posted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 11:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanx a lot Phil!
Reset of mayaPrefs.mel helped.
All works fine. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
headus Site Admin

Posts: 2902
Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
|
Posted: Thu Mar 14, 2013 1:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
Great news! And its interesting it appears to be a common problem.
Phil |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
stu
Posts: 9
Joined: 02 Feb 2007
|
Posted: Tue Jul 30, 2013 10:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi,
Switching to the default Maya UserPrefs can be tricky in some cases.
Looking at the uvlayout_open.mel I found a way to fix it without touching any at your Maya prefs.
Open this file, may be in here on windows:
C:\Users\XXX\Documents\maya\20XX-xXX\scripts\uvlayout_open.mel
change the line: (line 823 for me, could be different for you, I've played a lot with it..)
-options "groups=1;ptgroups=1;materials=1;smoothing=1;normals=1" -force $uvlayout_tempbase;
to
-options "groups=1;ptgroups=1;materials=1;smoothing=1;normals=1" -force $uvlayout_savename;
Then you should be fine...
I hope it helps
Stu |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|