headus 3D tools headus 3D tools / 3D scans
Support Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch    UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
headus 3D scans

Maya 2013 plugin, send mesh issues

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jrtonnesen



Posts: 1
Joined: 21 Jun 2007

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 11:17 am    Post subject: Maya 2013 plugin, send mesh issues Reply with quote

I have it so in maya 2013 I can open uvlayout by clicking on run. Uvlayout will open but when I select mesh and click send nothing gets sent. Now I've checked many times to see if obj export is loaded and it is. the script editor registers that I'm sending it and spits out this // Selected objects sent to UVLayout.

Any help would be appreciated.

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
headus
Site Admin


Posts: 2873
Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Location: Perth, Australia

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you're comfortable with editing MEL script, open up the 'uvlayout_open.mel' file and change this line ...

int $debug = 0;

... to this ...

int $debug = 1;

Restart Maya to make sure it loads up the edited script, then try and send a mesh to UVLayout. Extra info will be send to the script window, which might help you work out whats wrong yourself, otherwise email or post it here and I'll take a look.

Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
valurik



Posts: 5
Joined: 13 Mar 2013
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 3:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.
I've encountered similar problem.
After turning debug mode on, it said: "can't open file"

maya version 2013.5 x64
originally it worked well.
i haven't noticed when exactly it has broken.
reinstall of plugin or whole UVlayout don't fix the problem.
maybe reinstall of maya will help, but i don't have time to chek it right now.

after reinstall of UV layout with debug mode turned on it says nothing((
just: "selected object sent to UVLayout"

#on same machine maya 2008 is installed and all works perfectly#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
headus
Site Admin


Posts: 2873
Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Location: Perth, Australia

PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Someone else recently reported a similar problem, and they discovered that there was something in their "maya/2013-x64/prefs/userPrefs.mel" file that was breaking the plugin. We couldn't work out which maya setting/preference it was that was the problem, but they deleted that file to reset all the values, and it fixed it.

Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
valurik



Posts: 5
Joined: 13 Mar 2013
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 11:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanx a lot Phil!
Reset of mayaPrefs.mel helped.
All works fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
headus
Site Admin


Posts: 2873
Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Location: Perth, Australia

PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2013 1:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great news! And its interesting it appears to be a common problem.

Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
stu



Posts: 9
Joined: 02 Feb 2007

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2013 10:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Switching to the default Maya UserPrefs can be tricky in some cases.
Looking at the uvlayout_open.mel I found a way to fix it without touching any at your Maya prefs.

Open this file, may be in here on windows:
C:\Users\XXX\Documents\maya\20XX-xXX\scripts\uvlayout_open.mel

change the line: (line 823 for me, could be different for you, I've played a lot with it..)
-options "groups=1;ptgroups=1;materials=1;smoothing=1;normals=1" -force $uvlayout_tempbase;

to

-options "groups=1;ptgroups=1;materials=1;smoothing=1;normals=1" -force $uvlayout_savename;

Then you should be fine...
I hope it helps

Stu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group