headus 3D tools headus 3D tools / 3D scans
Support Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch    UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
headus 3D scans

Linux Path Error.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
phongsta



Posts: 3
Joined: 23 Jan 2010

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2010 12:25 pm    Post subject: Linux Path Error. Reply with quote

Hi,

I am testing uvlayout trial on a ubuntu linux system. I have configured the path correctly for HEADUS_HOME, PATH and LD_LIBRARY_PATH. uvlayout starts up just fine but when I try to view the user guide from the menu I get an error in the shell

---bash output---

if: Badly formed number.

---

is there a way to correctly configure uvlayout to see all of its files? I noticed this same shell output from headus 3d tools also. I installed to a /home/user/ dir. I use uvlayout at work and do not get these errors.

thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
headus
Site Admin


Posts: 2875
Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Location: Perth, Australia

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2010 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The user guide is just a PDF file, which you can find in the "www" subdirectory on the UVLayout install directory, so find that and view it as you normally would a PDF file.

The software runs a shell script called "browser" to view the file, and I suspect that's where the error is coming from. If you type "uname" into a shell window, what output do you get?

Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
phongsta



Posts: 3
Joined: 23 Jan 2010

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2010 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am running CrunchBang Linux 9.04. its a repackage of Ubuntu 9.04 with fluxbox window manager.

uname -a out is as fallows...
---
Linux foo-laptop 2.6.28-13-generic #45-Ubuntu SMP Tue Jun 30 22:12:12 UTC 2009 x86_64 GNU/Linux
---

yes it looks like bash in unable to read your csh scripts.. here is a quick conversion of your csh to bash. this should work for all programs in the path, this works for txtedit also. evince is my pdf reader btw.

-----bash browser script-----
#!/bin/bash
if [ `uname` == Darwin ]; then
exec open "$1"
else if which evince >/dev/null; then
exec evince "$1"
else
exec xmessage -nearmouse " No browser found. See ...\
$0 "
fi
fi
fi
done
----------

one more quick question if you don't mind me asking...
Can I purchase a single Professional License without a physical dongle? I really don't what to use such a thing. A license key or single floating licence would be preferable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
headus
Site Admin


Posts: 2875
Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Location: Perth, Australia

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2010 11:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

"it looks like bash in unable to read your csh scripts.. "

Yes, correct, but I thought that '/bin/csh' was installed on all linux systems? If its not there, then installing "tcsh" should fix it.

"Can I purchase a single Professional License without a physical dongle? "

Yes, you can have an Ether license if you want. The differences are explained on "uvlayout.com/keys". Just let me know after making the order that you don't want a dongle.

Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
phongsta



Posts: 3
Joined: 23 Jan 2010

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 12:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

great,

thank you for the info.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group