headus 3D tools headus 3D tools / 3D scans
Support Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch    UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
headus 3D scans

Problem with Nvidia Dualview
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Locke



Posts: 18
Joined: 31 Jan 2006

PostPosted: Sat Mar 04, 2006 12:46 am    Post subject: Problem with Nvidia Dualview Reply with quote

First, let me say great job on this program. I will definitely be picking up a copy.

I first experienced this problem in version 1.8 but didn't have time to figure out if it was the program or something on my end. I decided to try it again with 1.10.1 today on a model I needed with as few seams as possible and the problem was still there.

The problem is that the program randomly locks up with the process running 100% when manipulating the model. Sometimes it takes a few minutes to occur but often it is within a few seconds, and it always must be restarted. I decided to try turning off dualview and just use a single monitor, keeping all the same processes running as before. Well, that solved the problem. I was able to use UVLayout for a few hours without a single hiccup.

I can't say it is positively a problem with Nvidia's dualview but it sure seems that way. Has anyone else experienced this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
headus
Site Admin


Posts: 2873
Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Location: Perth, Australia

PostPosted: Sat Mar 04, 2006 1:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I know someone with that setup ... will test it out this week sometime.

Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
headus
Site Admin


Posts: 2873
Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Location: Perth, Australia

PostPosted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 2:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I was able to test things on both nvidia and ati cards ...

On the nvidia card I didnt get a crash/lock-up, but the 3d window didnt draw
at all on the second display (just showed left over junk), while the gui buttons
redrew ok.

On the ati card the redraws did work OK on the second display.

On both cards though my whole window positon code was confused ... normally
the 3d window pops up just to the right of the gui window, but if I had that on the
second display, the 3d window appeared on the first display.

So yes, a bunch of problems there to fix for dual display systems, so stick to single
displays for now if you can :-) Unfortunately these probably wont get fixed any time
soon, but at least I know about them now and they're logged into the bug tracker.

Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
headus
Site Admin


Posts: 2873
Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Location: Perth, Australia

PostPosted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 2:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just did another test in the nvidia card ... it gave me the option for both
dualview (ie two displays/screens) or horizontal stacked (ie makes the whole desktop
span the two monitors). Anyway, so when I run it with horizontal stacked it seems
to work fine ... 3d window redraws correctly on either montor, and windowpositions
all work correctly, I guess because the software just sees it all as just one
wide-screen desktop. One draw-back I can see though is that windows maximize
to cover both monitors, where when in dualview mode, they only maximize to the
size of the monitor they're currently on.

Anyway, that might be a work-around for nvidia owners who want to use dual monitors.

Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Locke



Posts: 18
Joined: 31 Jan 2006

PostPosted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for checking. That's exactly the reason why I run dualview instead of horizontal span.

The only problem I have when switching from dualview to a single monitor is that all of my desktop icons get slammed over into the one display and never return to my meticulous layout when I switch back. I'll try switching to horizontal span in the mean time.

It definitely seems to be a problem with the way it draws. I can still save the file when it locks up and the rest of UVLayout continues to function. The main window just refuses to update. Probably just a weird Nvidia quirk with daulview.

Thanks Paul.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
headus
Site Admin


Posts: 2873
Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Location: Perth, Australia

PostPosted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ahhh, OK, that sounds exactly like what I was getting. I dont think the program
locks up or freezes, is just not updating the 3d window properly ... move that window
so half is on one monitor and half on the other monitor ... you can spin the object
around and it draws fine on one side, but doesnt change on the other!

Yes, there's something odd happening with the nvidia driver/card, because it doesnt
do that on the ATI card I tried, but I'm probably doing something wrong in my opengl
init calls ... will take a look at some nvidia demo code/programs to see if they work ...

Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Steve Burke



Posts: 6
Joined: 17 Jun 2006

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2006 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

headus wrote:
Ahhh, OK, that sounds exactly like what I was getting. I dont think the program
locks up or freezes, is just not updating the 3d window properly ... move that window
so half is on one monitor and half on the other monitor ... you can spin the object
around and it draws fine on one side, but doesnt change on the other!

Phil


I haven't used a two monitor setup for awhile but, if I remember correctly, you have to ensure that OpenGL features are enabled on the second monitor. You may have to dig around in the NVIDIA control panel for it. Under advanced features or something like that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
headus
Site Admin


Posts: 2873
Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Location: Perth, Australia

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2006 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Excellent, thanks! I found the setting (see below). Here's some blurb I found on the web ...

Quote:
If you are using multiple displays in nView Dualview mode and/or two or more Nvidia graphics cards you will have access to the Multi-device Compatibility and Multi-device Performance modes. The difference between the Multi-Device Compatibility and Multi-Device Performance modes is in their performance with OpenGL games - the 'performance' mode is faster but may result in more graphical glitches.


So that seems to solve the display problems, but there's still an issue with the window placements over multiple monitors, something I hope to fix eventually.

Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Locke



Posts: 18
Joined: 31 Jan 2006

PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Excellent! I'll give it a whirl when I get a chance and report back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Locke



Posts: 18
Joined: 31 Jan 2006

PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2006 3:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, we've made some progress. Instead of just locking up the viewport, it crashes now! When I click on the MS error report, I get an error signature of:

AppName: cyeat.exe AppVer: 0.2.0.6 ModName: nvoglnt.dll
ModVer: 6.14.10.8425 Offset: 0018af0b

The only problem is that the crash isn't very consistent in its replication. The vast majority of the time, however, has been after making a cut and then rotating the object immediately afterwards. It doesn't do it every time you make a cut, but it always manages to do it eventually. This does not happen in single display mode.

If there's any other information or logs I can send your way, please let me know. I'm more than happy to help.

EDIT* This was done with the default test torus model.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
headus
Site Admin


Posts: 2873
Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Location: Perth, Australia

PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 12:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the crash report ... I only spun the torus around in my testing, so
will have a go at doing some actual editing on the dualview sometime too.

Locke wrote:
.. AppName: cyeat.exe ... ModName: nvoglnt.dll ...


Yeah, thats my application (its the uvlayout 3d window), but nvoglnt.dll isnt mine.
My guess is its the NVidia Open GL windows NT interface library. The fact that
it only occurs when in dualview mode suggests to me its their bug, not mine. Do
you have the latest driver installed? I know that a couple of guys from the nvidia
demo team are playing with uvlayout, so maybe they'll have an aswer to this one???

bye for now,

Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Locke



Posts: 18
Joined: 31 Jan 2006

PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 1:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

headus wrote:
Thanks for the crash report ... I only spun the torus around in my testing, so
will have a go at doing some actual editing on the dualview sometime too.

Locke wrote:
.. AppName: cyeat.exe ... ModName: nvoglnt.dll ...


Yeah, thats my application (its the uvlayout 3d window), but nvoglnt.dll isnt mine.
My guess is its the NVidia Open GL windows NT interface library. The fact that
it only occurs when in dualview mode suggests to me its their bug, not mine. Do
you have the latest driver installed? I know that a couple of guys from the nvidia
demo team are playing with uvlayout, so maybe they'll have an aswer to this one???

bye for now,

Phil

Yeah, it's obviously something quite picky about Nvidia's OpenGL implementation in dualview. I'm running the latest driver that I can (84.25) and the last WHQL release is 84.21. I can't run the 90's series due to some issues in XSI.

That would be pretty great if someone from Nvidia would add their input.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Steve Burke



Posts: 6
Joined: 17 Jun 2006

PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 3:33 pm    Post subject: I'll forward this bug to the engineers at NVIDIA Reply with quote

Hi folks,

I'll forward this bug to the engineers at NVIDIA.

Steve Burke
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
headus
Site Admin


Posts: 2873
Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Location: Perth, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 4:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks!

Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Locke



Posts: 18
Joined: 31 Jan 2006

PostPosted: Sun Feb 18, 2007 3:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just a little update on my end...

No crashes so far! I took the Torus and a few other meshes for a spin the other day trying everything I could to crash it and it performed perfectly. I'm sure it had something to do with a reformat and a different Nvidia driver. Wink As long as it works, I'm happy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group