headus 3D tools headus 3D tools / 3D scans
Support Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch    UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
headus 3D scans

Old corridor

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Rich-Art



Posts: 120
Joined: 29 Dec 2005

PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2010 3:15 am    Post subject: Old corridor Reply with quote

Hi All,

Here is my latest project. I used UVLayout for almost every object in these scene. Smile


Peace,
Rich_Art. Wink



Old-Corridor_final.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  190.47 KB
 Viewed:  14808 Time(s)

Old-Corridor_final.jpg


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
headus
Site Admin


Posts: 2873
Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Location: Perth, Australia

PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice! Because its lots of boxy shaped things, did you use the Segment tool?

Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Rich-Art



Posts: 120
Joined: 29 Dec 2005

PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Phil,

Yeah I used the segment tool for almost all the objects.
And the new function for unwrapping pipes (R key) works great as well.

Peace,
Rich_Art. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Josephus



Posts: 2
Joined: 10 May 2010

PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rich, that is very nice. I'm just at the place in my 3d modeling/rendering that I need to start painting textures like this to my architectural models, hence my interest in UVLayout. I do have c4d 10.5/bodypaint, I've played with some of the basics but having a bit of a difficult time grasping it. A totally "noob" question...once you get your uv layout/maps in UVLayout, do you paint inside UVLayout or export to Photoshop, and then re-assign those images back in UVLayout? Any explanation would be extremely helpful.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
headus
Site Admin


Posts: 2873
Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Location: Perth, Australia

PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The basic work flow is that you load the model into UVLayout to create the UV coordinates (i.e. the flattened out pattern) and then save the model back out. You can also use the "Render" tool in UVLayout then to save the layout to blank texture maps.

If you load these maps into Photoshop you'll be able to see the UV coordinates drawn into the maps, so then you know where to paint. I believe that recent versions on Photoshop support the loading of 3D geometry as well, so you can see how the painted textures will appear on your model as you are painting.

You will then load the model with UV coordinates into C4D, and apply the painted color map before adding lights etc and rendering out your scene.

Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
r_knightly



Posts: 74
Joined: 29 Jun 2007

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 1:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

looks awesome. nice work Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Josephus



Posts: 2
Joined: 10 May 2010

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 8:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

headus wrote:
The basic work flow is that you load the model into UVLayout to create the UV coordinates (i.e. the flattened out pattern) and then save the model back out. You can also use the "Render" tool in UVLayout then to save the layout to blank texture maps.

If you load these maps into Photoshop you'll be able to see the UV coordinates drawn into the maps, so then you know where to paint. I believe that recent versions on Photoshop support the loading of 3D geometry as well, so you can see how the painted textures will appear on your model as you are painting.

You will then load the model with UV coordinates into C4D, and apply the painted color map before adding lights etc and rendering out your scene.

Phil
Thanks Phil for the helpful explanation, I see the connection now. I will have to explore further what I can/can not do with PS (CS4) as far as painting in 3d and exporting out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SLI_Fallen



Posts: 66
Joined: 19 Dec 2008

PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2010 6:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Note you will need to use the EXTENDED versions of Photoshop to have the 3D painting capability.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group