headus 3D tools headus 3D tools / 3D scans
Support Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch    UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
headus 3D scans

something very wrong with this mesh

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mokosan



Posts: 150
Joined: 03 Apr 2006
Location: NZ

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 1:00 pm    Post subject: something very wrong with this mesh Reply with quote

I have had this issue happening with some meshes lately..

It's hard to describe exactly what is wrong with the geometry...it's as if the vertex numbers have been scattered. Cut here, it cuts elsewhere. The layout appears quite relaxed but the display shows areas of the mesh are stretched. You can cut edges as expected in UV mode, but it fails in 3D mode.

I'm a little concerned about what exactly has happened here.
Anybody got answers?

I have been moving the mesh to UVLayout from Max with the plugin.
Max 2010 and latest version of UVLayout.

M



screwed mesh.rar
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  screwed mesh.rar
 Filesize:  324.16 KB
 Downloaded:  861 Time(s)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
headus
Site Admin


Posts: 2873
Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Location: Perth, Australia

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems to load fine here, and I played around with it for a few minutes with no errors.That's directly into UVLayout, not via the Max plugin. Maybe its the plugin thats causing your problems?

Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mokosan



Posts: 150
Joined: 03 Apr 2006
Location: NZ

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 7:30 pm    Post subject: scrambled. Reply with quote

I just tried several times to load/edit that mesh as an obj and I either get the comment below or it crashes.

Comment:
"1585 odd polys moved from UV space to ED space
Mesh topology too broken to load. Try clean in load options"

I loaded it with the clean option on, tried weld too.

I can load it as NEW, but that was my point. This geometry seems to have been scrambled..

Did you load/edit or load/NEW?
M
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
headus
Site Admin


Posts: 2873
Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Location: Perth, Australia

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 11:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, sorry, I should have said ... I could only open it with "New" selected. There's something about the existing UVs that UVLayout doesn't like. Maybe if you divide the OBJ so there's fewer pieces in each file, you'll be able to find which one it is that's causing the most problems.

Your geometry looks fine, its just the existing UVs that are breaking UVLayout.

Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group