headus 3D tools headus 3D tools / 3D scans
Support Forums

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch    UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
headus 3D scans

Unwrap Workflow

View previous topic :: View next topic  
highlander_72

PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2007 12:38 am    Post subject: Unwrap Workflow Reply with quote

Could someone quickly describe the workflow (keyshortcuts and all) to efficiently unwrap ie a human head or point me towards the appropratie tutorial or video?!

I am really new at this and for some reason I cant seem to get decent head unwrap. For example, I cut the head off of a body and up from the rear but the head merely comes off of the main body leavin the cut from the back of the neck towards the forehead welded and so it wont unwrap. Do I have to cut it in half and then weld it to get one solid head UV layout?

Also, would someone be willing to share an image of a next to perfectly optimized, unwrapped head mesh with the color coding to show distortion?

Thanks a lot in advance! Very Happy
moochie

PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2007 1:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi. Actually, there's something we need to know first. How are you going to texture the model and how is the model going to be used?

If you'll be painting in ZBrush or Bodypaint, or another prog that allows you to paint over seams on a live model, then one can put more splits in the mesh and get a much better flattened piece. However, if you'll be overlaying a photo on your template, and so you want the map to be as head-shaped as possible, then there are different considerations.

As for use .. will the model be used in a one-off render, or does the texture need to be as good as possible all the way round? If it's just for a one-off, then you only need to concentrate on flattening the area that will appear in the final render.