headus 3D tools headus 3D tools / 3D scans
Support Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch    UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
headus 3D scans

Current Bug/Wish List
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 9, 10, 11  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
headus
Site Admin


Posts: 2871
Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Location: Perth, Australia

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2006 11:35 pm    Post subject: AWOL Reply with quote

Hello All,

I've had a deadline on some other work, so have dropped this
particular ball for a while. Things will be back to normal in a
few days!

Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
kfinla



Posts: 15
Joined: 19 Jan 2006

PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2006 5:34 am    Post subject: feature request Reply with quote

being an old lightwave user, and picking up maya etc later on.

I've always liked the fact that you could output your UV layouts as a eps file. These have unlimited rez since its vector art, so if your painting a 4K, 8K.. texture theres no stepping, and the lines arent thicker than they have to be like u get when u export a 2k (max) tiff out of maya and have to use that to piant a 4K texture.

Just enter whatever rez you want photoshop to rasterize the .eps to.

-Ken

PS. I also think some sort of grid,guides, or align system could be handy when manipulating your flattened uv's.

ppS. OSX build

[edited by headus] Instead of cutting and pasting every good
suggestion to the main list, I'll highlight them ... easier for me,
and keeps them in context too. Then I just have to scan through
the discussion every now and then to remind myself of what
people want.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
burnttoast



Posts: 6
Joined: 07 Jan 2006

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

don't konw if this was suggested but can we maybe get a click weld in UV section like the click cut in the ed section? By this I mean when you use c in the ed area you get a selection before and after the selected edge is, could we get the same option in the welding in hte UV area cause clicking and clicking is tiresome Smile

Thx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rich-Art



Posts: 120
Joined: 29 Dec 2005

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 9:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just Select 1 edge on the beginning and one on the end of the edgeloop, point somewhere between this two selections on the edgeloop and hit SHIFT + W .

Peace,
Rich-Art. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
headus
Site Admin


Posts: 2871
Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Location: Perth, Australia

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 11:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Correct! By the way, I want to add a key/button to sort of snap the
two selected edges together before the Enter key weld. I find I
spend a fair chunk of time moving and rotating pieces around before
welding them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Rich-Art



Posts: 120
Joined: 29 Dec 2005

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 11:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes that would be a great option.

Peace,
Rich-Art. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
headus
Site Admin


Posts: 2871
Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Location: Perth, Australia

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 11:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dodger wrote:
When you zoom in too far, sometimes things disappear.

Yep, I've fixed that one already ... it was a clipping plane problem
in the ortho views. Unfortunatly I broke something else with the
fix, so have to fix that new bug before building a new install. That
should be ready in a few days.

Quote:
... the shell will start to walk across the page.

Yeah, that happens on just about every detacted shell. Its
obviously a bug, but not a fatal one, so I've sort of left it for
now to fix more major problems.

Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
kfinla



Posts: 15
Joined: 19 Jan 2006

PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2006 8:33 am    Post subject: sorry, UVlayout another idea:) Reply with quote

Another thing I would find handy would be the ability to work beyond 0-1 UV space. For the purpose of multi-displacement in apps like zbrush where I may want a 4K displacment texture just for the head.
And ive broken my model into several pieces.

example:
[url]http://forums.cgsociety.org/printthread.php?t=200732 [/url]

Creating multiple UV sets would be cool, but would also require the ability to export a native MB/MA maya file, or LWO, etc since the OBJ format sadly only supports 1 UV set.

Hopefully a new file format comes out to transfer meshes with moree than 1 UV set. OBJ2?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
headus
Site Admin


Posts: 2871
Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Location: Perth, Australia

PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2006 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, that's on list already under "Tiled UVs". I'm thinking that
you would set a "U max" value (eg "4"), which would break the
horizontal bounding box into 4 grids, and shells/regions could
be moved up as far as you wanted to make more grids in the V
direction.

Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Dodger



Posts: 83
Joined: 14 Jan 2006

PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2006 11:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not sure if this is what you meant above by 'I want to add a key/button to sort of snap the
two selected edges together before the Enter key weld,' so I'll just throw this out incase it's not:

In 3DSMax's Unwrap UVW modifier's editor, there's a 'stitch' function available both from the main menu and from the right-click menu. What it does is this:

The UVW Unwrap Editor calculates the other cluster (called shell here; cluster == shell) that shares the most seam edges with the current selection. It then moves the whole cluster from wherever it is, rotates it, and put it in the optimal position to attach, then welds all the selected vertices to the position that ends up being their average in the new translated and rotated place. If soft-select is turned on, the rest of the vertices in the UVs are displaced just like you were moving them manually.

I've been thinking that duplicating this feature, perhaps with some additional abilities like the ability to scale the 'other' cluster while applying this would help a lot in fitting one shell to another.

This would also avoid the 'Oh crap, I selected one edge too many and have a stretchy across the screen that I have to hunt down and unweld' problem, snce it only welds the cluster with the largest amount of matches.

If it had scaling added to the automatic tranforms, basically it could grab the matching cluster, find the average angle of the selected matching edges in the first-part, rotate the second stich-in part to that angle, scale that part to make the length of that virtual edge the same, and move it so the two virtual edges line up, then stitch it all together.

In use, this would mean you could select a place to stitch things up without worrying if you went over one or two edges, hit the stitch key, and the other side of that edge would jump across the page, scale down or up, and rotate and be automatically stiched in at the optimal angle to do so. Then you just hit f a few times and viola.

It would also be really helpful in getting rid of the occasional stray-poly UV. You could get most everything cleaned up, then select all the edges on one of those and the other shell would jump to encompass it or, if the option was there to make the current selection be the one translated, it would jump right to where it goes.

This would be especially helpful when editing meshes made in other programs. For instance, programs that automatically slice things up by normal deviation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rich-Art



Posts: 120
Joined: 29 Dec 2005

PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 7:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would like to see that the SHIFT + Q key-Combo changes.
I use SHIFT + W a lot, but it happens from time to time that I hit the Q instead of W.
They are next to each other and so a little shifting of the finger and bang the UVLayout closes.
And I have to start over again from the last saving point.

So I think it is a good idea to choose a differend key-combo.

Peace,
Rich-Art. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
headus
Site Admin


Posts: 2871
Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Location: Perth, Australia

PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rich-Art wrote:
I use SHIFT + W a lot, but it happens from time to time that I hit the Q instead of W

Ahhh, yes, sorry about that! The shift-Q is an undocumented fast quit that I use
when developing ... doesnt need to be in there for the general public, and I can
see how it could be really really annoying.

Fix made ... you'll have it in the next installer.

Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Rich-Art



Posts: 120
Joined: 29 Dec 2005

PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2006 12:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ha, don't say sorry to me. You are doing a hell of a job here.

Peace,
Rich-Art. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mikebain



Posts: 1
Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Location: Sydney

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great tool!

Just UV mapped a hand model, that I had previously spent a day tweaking, in about twenty minutes. There's only two suggestions I can make.

1. To re-iterate another post it would be great to have a wireframe/transparent mode in Edit to get to those overlapping edges.

2. Don't know if this is possible, but it would be nice to be able to unflatten a solution, or to go back to a specific point in the solve. Something like a rewind.

Otherwise I think you got it covered.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
headus
Site Admin


Posts: 2871
Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Location: Perth, Australia

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mikebain wrote:
... it would be nice to be able to unflatten a solution, or to go back to a specific point in the solve. Something like a rewind.

You can unflatten a shell with Shift-D ... this "undrops" it and moves those polys
back into the "Ed" space. If you then Shift-D a second time, it'll weld any UV seams
back together, giving you a fresh start on that part of the geom.

Regarding a rewind function, we still have to do the Undo thing, which should let
you do this. But also you can use the Tmp 1 to 5 and E buttons to save as you go,
and then you can reload one of those UVL files to recover a previous state.

And as far as picking tricky edges, I'll be looking at that too. I had a similar problem
round behind and ear on one model. Someone on the forum suggested a "bloat"
key/button ... I'll be looking at that, as well as maybe the wireframe mode too.

Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 9, 10, 11  Next
Page 3 of 11

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group